Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

unequaled equilibrium

(unbalanced me)

In case the blog title didn’t give it away, I’m searching for balance. When I started this journey, part of me – probably most of me – thought balance meant perfection. It meant learning to spend exactly the right amount of time and energy on each aspect of my life in order to make me blissful. The more I practice yoga, the less this is the ultimate goal.

Yes, part of what I need to learn is how to balance my time and energy on different things to stay happy while being productive. But that’s no longer enough. Life has a way of tipping the scales as soon as you get them level. Even if I achieve unequaled equilibrium one day, the next may introduce a new element.

A Year of Living Your Yoga really brought this into focus for me last month. Judith shared with us that “Balance is not a static state but is like a pendulum that swings from side to side.” and that we need to be grateful for our mistakes and regrets for they give balance to our victories and celebrations.

I see a kind of balance at work every day. As a server, I basically live off tips. Some people don’t seem to understand this concept. Here’s the thing though: at the end of the day the people who leave good tips almost always balance the bad tips. I used to just focus on the bad tips. It is so much more fun bitching about cheap tables. Lately, I’ve challenged myself (and my co-workers) to brag about our big tips as well. To recognize the balance.

But what I’m looking for is more than just looking on the bright side of a bad situation. It’s accepting the bad situation for what it is and how it completes your life. You can’t understand joy without sorrow. If only this was easier done than said 🙂

2 responses to “unequaled equilibrium

  1. Y is for Yogini March 29, 2011 at 2:12 am

    it sounds like you are a brilliant influence on those around you! 😉 xo

  2. lissa March 29, 2011 at 3:29 am

    love that you are influencing others to find their balance in life. i truly think that there wouldn’t be joy without sorrow. we need one to have the other.

Leave a Reply

