Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

Mastering Crow {#365yoga}

(source : lifeinterstitial)

Judith’s wisdom for March 10 was that difficulty is one hundred percent subjective. What is easy for me may be hard for you. What you make look simple eludes me. She then challenged us #365yoga-ers to pick an asana that we find difficult and keep at it for the next twenty-one days.

The first pose that came to mind is crow pose (crane pose / bakasana). I lack both balance and upper arm strength. So for the rest of the month I set to mastering flying. (What asana did you choose?)

I’m starting with these videos by Sadie Nardini. VERY helpful!

 

4 responses to “Mastering Crow {#365yoga}

  1. Y is for Yogini March 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    i’m working on floating up into handstand rather than kicking. surprised myself. going brilliantly! 🙂

    • taraSG March 17, 2011 at 11:55 am

      @ Y is for Yogini : Ohh! I need to work on that too 🙂 I’m hoping to pick one asana each month to focus on… that should be mine next month!

  2. Nancy A March 20, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    i of course love this post for so many reasons… 1.) love crow, 2.) love sadie’s way of doing it (although for me I go from Malasana) and 3.) love the idea of Lo floating up into handstand. I find my handstands 100% stronger and longer floating up and in the middle of the room b/c you really really have to rely upon your core!

    keep us posted

    p.s. the #1 most impt thing for crow I think is where you look.. gaze at that space just above the middle of your two hands. so if your hands are at three and six, then look at twelve. too far forward = face plant, too far back= sommersault

Leave a Reply

