Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

marital bliss

(the hubs and I captured by Shultz Photography)

I thought I was impressively improving my patience and ability to let go of negative feelings…. then the hubs took a whole day off work. He usually works 12 hour shift overnights seven days a week. This means I’m alone a lot. In the brief hours I get with him each day, things are going great. He takes advantage of my better mood and in return is being sweeter than usual.

Not that he wasn’t sweet this morning… he was  just grating my nerves. Playing his music loud while showering (when I’m used to being able to practice my yoga in silence or to my own music). Spraying his cologne in the hall (which has now spread to every room in the house). Eating my cereal. Getting the cat riled up. All things I would be used to if he were on day shift.

I will say (proudly) that I didn’t say anything to him. I took deep breaths (prior to the cologne incident) and I kept my mouth shut. I guess it’s all about baby steps. Today I was acting like it didn’t bother me. Perhaps if I keep working on it, eventually it really won’t bother me.

4 responses to “marital bliss

  1. Y is for Yogini March 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    …and always have a hidden back-up box of cereal. 😉

  2. nancy March 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    i could write this every day my guy’s home. completely messes up my schedule and the groove w/which i move through my day. love him to bits and have for 15 yrs, but he cramps my funky style

    • taraSG March 15, 2011 at 11:44 am

      @ nancy : lol yeah the hubs is a lot like my dad (which I didn’t realize until 5 years in) and if my dad is any indication… the hubs will never stop annoying me most days 🙂

Leave a Reply

