Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

Take That Fear!!

(not me : source : Holly Mosier )

Yesterday I wasn’t feeling the led practice I was doing at home. I was falling out of simple poses. I couldn’t concentrate at all. So instead of giving up (which is what I probably would have done a few months ago), I put on some Adele and just did what my body wanted. Turned out to be Sun Salutations and attempting a headstand (Salamba Sirsasana).

I’ve never done a headstand (as an adult) and was thinking I’d fall and break my neck. Turns out I didn’t. The wall caught me. My arms supported me. It didn’t even hurt my sometimes bum shoulder. I was totally high on yoga. I was dancing and freaking my cat out. And since I was practicing with the shades up at night, I was probably entertaining our neighbors. It was perfect.

Now to carry this fearlessness into the rest of my life…

4 responses to “Take That Fear!!

  1. Jethero March 9, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Awrite! There’s nothing like an inversion to kick yourself into gear. Keep rockin’ out, no matter the pose or style!

Leave a Reply

