Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

Hey asshole! You’re ruining my zen!

I was feeling and acting super positive thanks to my renewed yoga practice, reading positive-thinking encouraging books, meditation, and even my 21 Day Yoga Body program… And then I had to work with the uber passive-aggressive co-worker who happens to be the other shift manager (opposite days as me). Since that day last week, each time I’ve worked he’s either been there or left a message on the common board nit-picking me. At first, I was OK. I knew not to take it personally. I’ve been told by many other people who work there that it’s obvious he is intimidated by me. Which is silly because quite frankly, I do NOT plan on making a career out of waitressing or managing a restaurant.

However, after the most resent episode I was shaking with negative emotion. I was angry and I can’t help but take it personally. I have no idea how to deal with this. I obviously need to talk to the owner about him leaving notes on the board since it undermines my authority and to instead to come to me directly and discreetly if there is a problem (like the coffee maker not being shiny enough – yes, that was worthy of a note on the board).

I think it bothers me so much because I know I’m damn good at my job. I say to myself “Tara, really?! You’re upset about what he thinks? Everyone else knows better and YOU know better!” and then five minutes later I’m stressing again. It ruins my whole day.

How to you avoid taking negative comments personally?


3 responses to “Hey asshole! You’re ruining my zen!

  1. Y is for Yogini February 16, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    i’m a ninja, so i just take care of those kind of people while they’re sleeping.

  2. Stacey February 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I think it’s easy to say it doesn’t matter and not take it personally it’s still going to happen. It’s never easy when someone is being rude to you.

    It’s something I struggle with a lot.

    • Nancy A February 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      Most of the time what others say is a direct reflection of some story THEY have and has nothing to do with you. Usually just knowing that keeps the negativity from bugging me.

      Or alternatively take Lo’s approach which kind of rocks 😉

Leave a Reply

