Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

#365yoga {01.30 – 02.05}

source : NamWizard

I’ve realized that while this blog is mostly for to me to be able to look back on my journey, neither one of us wants to read bland recaps of something you may be doing yourself. How I’m going to solve this, however, I haven’t completely worked out. So this week I’m going to try to go a little deeper into my favorite and most challenging day of A Year of Living Your Yoga and see where that takes us.

Favorite Lesson : Jan 31 – Yoga is not about avoiding difficulty.

When challenged to do something difficult for me for 5 minutes, I chose to apply for jobs. You might be thinking “that does not sound difficult” or if you’re my husband you might be thinking “it’s about damn time”. I really don’t like to think about why it’s hard for me, but without facing this, I can’t move past it.

When I lost my job 2 years ago (has it really been that long?!), I felt completely rejected. While rationally I can see that the elimination of my territory was more about the company’s lack of market research prior to hiring me, emotionally I feel like I wasn’t good enough. I did, however, jump full force into the application process right away. Hundreds of applications and months later without a lead just made the initial emotional wound that much deeper.

Then I got my current job as a waitress. While I wouldn’t call it “stress-free”, I don’t bring work home. It is easy for me and I’m good at it. Is it what I want to do for the rest of my life? NO! So why am I clinging to it? Because I’m excellent at denial. I’m comfortable here and it’s easy to let time pass without acknowledging the need for change.

Thinking about only having to apply for jobs for 5 minutes made it feel less of a big deal. I actually ended up working on them for longer than I anticipated. I’m hoping to go into this “only 5 minutes” mode for at least one night a week from now on.

Most Difficult Lesson : Feb 03 – Life is holy.

When asked to dedicate my practice to God or a divine being, I was at a complete loss. As I’ve mentioned on my Open Mind page, I’m not a religious person. I neither believe nor disbelieve in a higher power. I honestly don’t care either way. I am a good person (most of the time) and do so merely to be a good person. My parents chose to raise my sister and I to follow many of the same moral rules you see in religions like Christianity, but without the faith or fear of an afterlife or higher being.

So how do I align my beliefs, or lack there of, with this aspect of my yoga? I ended up dedicating that day to my husband instead. I picked someone who loves and supports me. Someone who helps me be a better person. I could have easily picked my parents, sister, or a close friend with the same intention.

I tried to look up some information on yoga for non-theists and came across a lot of articles about fear of yogic religion. Let me be clear, I don’t fear religion and welcome the ideas of many different cultures. To each their own. While I’m aware that I can benefit my life both physically and mentally with yoga without the spiritual aspects, I’m wondering how to best supplement them. If you are an atheist, or agnostic, or even Buddhist, how do you approach the theist side of your practice?

 

2 responses to “#365yoga {01.30 – 02.05}

  1. Rachel February 8, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    hey! This blog is back 🙂 awesome!

Leave a Reply

