Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

Apple Lemon Muffins

Yes, I made another batch of muffins. I can only assume that this baking streak (and the cleaning of the kitchen as soon as I’m done) is some kind of odd side-effect of meditation. It’s possible I’ve been replaced by a pod person. If I start cleaning the rest of the house, have tests done. That being said, these muffins are freaking awesome. I asked Shane what kind he wanted next and he said “lemon”. I happen to LOVE  lemon. While I changed the original recipe a little to make it healthier (and because I wasn’t braving the snowstorm to get lemon juice), they still turned out really good. I kinda hope Shane doesn’t like them…

Ingredients

8 servings

    1 cup flour {I used whole wheat flour}
    2 tsp baking powder
    a pinch of salt
    a dash of cinnamon {optional – I did NOT use}
    2 tbsp Splenda Brown
    1 egg, beaten {I used two egg whites}
    5 tbsp apple sauce {I subbed unsweetened and added a little Splenda}
    0.5 tbsp lemon juice {I only had lemon extract in the house}
    0.5 cups milk {used skim}
    a dash of vanilla
    1 med. apple, peeled and diced {didn’t peal}

Directions

  • preheat oven to 425F, lightly grease muffin tin or line with papers
  • sift together dry ingredients, set aside
  • mix together splenda brown sugar, egg, apple sauce, and lemon juice {since I only had lemon extract, I put in around a 1/2 teaspoon – maybe a little more – and just tested for taste} then add milk and vanilla
  • add dry ingredients and mix until just moistened, being careful not to over mix; fold in apples; spoon into muffin tins
  • back 15 minutes, until golden and a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean; cool 2-5 minutes in pan before removing to rack to cool completely

Nutrition

{following original instructions}

  • Total Calories : 101.5
  • Total Fat : 0.9 g
  • Total Carbs : 19.9 g
  • Protein : 2.9 g

{with my substitions}

  • Total Calories : 98
  • Total Fat : 0.3 g
  • Total Carbs : 19.7 g
  • Protein : 3.5 g
Leave a Reply

