Imagine Balance

imagining balance to achieve balance

Ricotta Cheese and Fruit?

(image source)

When my sister told me she was eating ricotta cheese with blueberries for breakfast, my first thought was “gross!”. Then my mom started eating healthier and told me she liked it too. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try… I actually love it! I had 1/2 cup of fat-free ricotta cheese topped with frozen blackberries (that I microwaved for a few seconds and blended). I did add a touch of Splenda because the fruit wasn’t very sweet. It was less than 100 calories, tasted good, and was surprisingly filling. I’m now starting to look for more dessert recipes that include ricotta. Have you used it for a sweet dish?

3 responses to “Ricotta Cheese and Fruit?

  1. *lynne* January 26, 2011 at 11:53 am

    I’ve done that with cottage cheese, not ricotta, and think it’s a great combo. Just looked it up, I think you have even fewer calories with cottage than ricotta (80cals for a half cup serving of low fat CC vs 170cal for a half cup serving of part skim RC). I think I have picked up a small tub of ricotta before, and it just sat in the fridge because i had no idea what to do with it :p That was before I figured out there are all these amazing recipes on the ‘net tho šŸ™‚

    • taraSG January 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      @ *lynne* : You know I remember eating cottage cheese with apples as a kid and although it sounds just as gross to me as ricotta cheese with fruit does, I’ll definitely try it. I’m a huge fan of cottage cheese and lettuce so it can’t hurt to have some in the house šŸ™‚ I think the fat free ricotta I have at home is about 80 cals for 1/2 cup, but I get bored with having the same meal all the time and really hope I like the cottage cheese with fruit so I can add another healthy breakfast to the mix!

      @ Stacey : I had read it and heard my sister liked it, but still didn’t try it until my mom did. I was honestly surprised that it was a mild enough cheese to eat with sweeter stuff. I’m going to have to try a ricotta cheesecake or something šŸ™‚

  2. Stacey January 26, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I have read this a tone of places and never tried it. Maybe I will.

Leave a Reply

